Heidi and Cliff’s Wedding

I have finally finished my photos from Heidi and Cliff’s wedding!  Their beautiful day is now ready for the world to see… just 3.5 days of work later :).  Their beautiful wedding was held near my home town in Minnesota.  With barns, a beautiful bridal party, a perfectly warm sunny day, a cute catholic church and a bean field we made it happen.

The bride walking to the “first look.”

Waiting for the ceremony to begin…

DA da da da!


The getaway car!

The reception was a grand party.  With just a couple stops at bars along the way the bride and groom arrived at the party for a pig roast.  Here, I heard the best Best Man speech yet accompanied by one of the coolest gift ideas I’ve seen in a while.  To start the evening off, Cliff’s grandma did the prayer.  The pig was dished and ready at the buffet for people to grab as they desired.  The toasts to follow that were ridiculously clever and hilarious.  I won’t even attempt to recap the brilliant Best Man speech but the groomsmen do need a preface.  The night before the wedding they set out to collect and purchase some items that the traditional wife would need.  At the reception they proceeded to take turns giving Heidi each of these gifts with a little story – something about sweeping up after the boys, having blueberry muffins ready for them when they come, and also remembering to have the spanking new toilet plunger on the ready after such muffins ;).  Such a blast!

Cake cutting = cake in face.

Great speeches + toasts = lots of laughing


About Kaia Calhoun

Welcome! I am a professional photographer and writer. Photographically I specialize in weddings, newborns, senior/graduation portraits, family portraits, and boudoir photography. As a writer I love telling stories and writing essays. If you go to my blog you'll find a couple other interests/hobbies I frequently enjoy as well! View all posts by Kaia Calhoun

One response to “Heidi and Cliff’s Wedding

Leave a comment